Hello and an introduction

This is the post excerpt.

Thank you for coming by. I am a middle aged woman and I was diagnosed with ASD level 1 about 6 months ago. I have two children I shall refer to as H and D, both boys. H is on the spectrum and D is about to be assessed. I hail from The Land Down Under and I consider myself a jack of too many trades, and a master of absolutely none.

This blog is about me making sense of autism and untangling my messy life to get to a point where I can move forward more confidently. I sure don’t want another 40 something years like the ones I’ve had. Something has to give, and sadly, it is my beliefs, understandings and notions I’ve had of myself. When I turn to face my past, all I see is a lifelong series of faux pas, burning of bridges and serious social gaffes.

There is another medical/genetic issue my small family contends with – haemophilia. I am a mild symptomatic carrier and D is a severe haemophiliac. It is important I mention this because a lot of our antithesis approach to it is certainly coloured by our autism. You’ll see what I mean as I post more.

I’ve called this “kaption this” because I’d like you to make up your mind and bring your own ideas to my posts, and it is a play on names. An inside joke, sorry.

At times, my words may be out of synch and ideas all over the place. I am not very patient with editing, but I will endeavour to proof my posts for ease of flow, coherence, typos and to gauge my emotions to it. I may write, but delete it all. I’ll see. I’ll try to be more forthcoming than my emotions allow. Communication is one of my biggest issues when it pertains to my engaging with others.

Snapshot of issues I intend to discuss:

*face blindness

*difficulties in understanding emotions

*communication – written and my regular non verbal state

*physical clumsiness

*depression

*friendships/relationships

*childhood

*diagnosis

*where to from here…

Author: kaptionthisblog

A 40 something mum of two, all of whom have autism and love ice cream.

3 thoughts on “Hello and an introduction”

  1. Welcome to WordPress and thanks for stopping by! Always glad to meet someone else on the autism spectrum. It’s interesting learning about it from different angles so I look forward to reading more from your perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

